对于大多数大型组织来说,技术采购的优先事项是相当明确的。购买的设备应该有适当的功能,使用它们需要安全,可接受的价格也相当重要。但是,考虑到这一点,如何添加每个组织都认为是下一个大事情的元素:可持续的运作?荷兰国防部询问了他们的主要IT供应商,并得到了一个不仅仅是 "绿色 "结果的答案。

此文是循环电子倡议博客系列的一部分。多个组织支持这一倡议,旨在鼓励组织和消费者对电子产品采取更多ansvarsfull 。

在荷兰,大多数大型公共和私人技术买家都发表了关于他们的绿色雄心的声明。近年来,欧洲的 "循环 "计划变得越来越明显,大多数组织都知道,在某个时刻,每个人都需要考虑到社会需求。但是,由于这一时刻可能还需要几年时间,目前推动采购人员行动的主要动力不是 "合规"。而是对价值的追求。作为一个好雇主的价值,让你的组织熟悉发展趋势的价值,将基本设备与你的职业道德以及创新、营销和讲故事的价值相一致的价值。

但所有这些与采购移动电话等终端用户设备有什么关系?几乎所有在科技行业工作的人都会告诉您 :一大堆。员工与他们使用的设备有一种情感关系,几乎是整天都在使用。手机是正常的一天(家庭)工作所必需的,这些小工具目前往往是人们与他们的雇主唯一的有形联系。最后,科技在全球的应用使其成为一个完美的产品,用于(象征性的)交流;当我们提到电话时,我们都知道我们在说什么。

这导致了一个有趣的转变。就在几年前,"ICT "和 "可持续性 "被认为是不相容的。绿色的东西被看作是额外的复杂性、成本和风险的原因;不是你的普通IT采购人员所能兴奋的。但现在,ICT实际上经常被视为实现更绿色的业务的合理起点。毕竟,技术是至关重要的,与每个员工都息息相关,最重要的是:该行业正在觉醒,发现了一个最大的未开发的商业机会:满足客户对技术的巨大需求,并与客户的价值观保持一致。科技行业正开始将可持续发展视为一个机会,视为它可以提供的一种客户服务。

但回到该部提出的问题上。为他们提供见解和选择的公司是荷兰IT服务市场的领导者。Centralpoint(最近被Dustin接管)。要求很明确:在不影响产品功能或采购平稳性等优先事项的情况下,将绿色创新应用于电话采购。Centralpoint建议采用一种被称为废物补偿的概念:当购买新设备时,确保收集和回收同等数量的报废电子产品。然后,这些回收的废物可以用来补偿市场上增加的新设备。这使得新设备 "不产生废物"。由于废物补偿是一项由TCO Development,并被全球大型买家采用的服务,该服务为该部提供了一个伟大和坚实的起点,以实现更绿色的技术采购。到目前为止,已经有超过6000部手机得到了补偿。

在循环电子日,我们需要庆祝这些最初的步骤。我们需要庆祝合作,比如说这个例子。主要的利益相关者包括一个雄心勃勃的客户、一个提供支持的供应商和一个实施废物补偿的循环服务提供商Closing the Loop。我们需要接受这样的事实:大的雄心("循环科技")是从小的、现实的步骤开始的。只有当这些第一步为每个人创造价值时,我们才能让每个人都加入进来。

For most large organisations, the priorities for tech procurement are quite clear. The devices bought should have the proper functionalities, using them needs to be safe and acceptable pricing is rather important. But given that, how to add the element every organisation recognizes as the next big thing: sustainable operations? The Dutch ministry of Defence asked their main IT supplier and got an answer that delivered much more than just ‘green’ results.

This text is part of the Circular Electronics Initiative blog series. Multiple organizations stand behind this initiative that aims sto encourage organizations and consumers to take a more responsible approach to electronics.

In the Netherlands, most large public and private tech buyers have made statements on their green ambitions. As European plans towards becoming ‘circular’ have become increasing visible in recent years, most organisations know that at some point, everyone will need to take societal demands into account. But as that moment could be years away, the main driver that currently sets procurers in motion isn’t ‘compliance’. It’s the search for value. The value of being a good employer, the value of familiarizing your organisation with developing trends, the value of aligning essential devices to your professional ethics and the values of innovation, marketing and story-telling.

But what does all of that have to do with procuring end user devices such as mobile phones? Almost everyone working in the tech industry will tell you: a whole lot. Employees have an emotional relationship with the devices they use, pretty much, the whole day. Phones are essential for a regular day at (home) work, the gadgets are currently often the only tangible connection people have with their employer. And lastly, tech’s global adoption makes it a perfect product to use for (symbolic) communication; we all know what we’re talking about when we refer to a phone.

This results an interesting shift. Just a few years ago, ‘ICT’ and ‘sustainability’ were considered incompatible. Green stuff was seen as a cause of additional complexity, costs and risks; not something your average IT procurement person gets excited by. But now, ICT is actually often seen as a logical starting point towards greener business. After all, tech is crucial, relevant for every employee and the best thing: the industry is waking up on one of the biggest untapped commercial opportunities: delivering on the huge customer need for tech that’s aligned with the customer’s values. The tech industry is beginning to see sustainability as an opportunity, as a customer service it can offer.

But back to the question asked by the ministry. The company that supported them with insights and options was the Dutch market leader for IT services: Centralpoint (recently taken over by Dustin). The request was clear: apply green innovation to the procurement of phones without compromising priorities such as product functionality or procurement smoothness. Centralpoint suggested to apply a concept known as waste-compensation: when a new device is bought, ensure the collection and recycling of an equal amount of end-of-life electronics. That recycled waste can then be used to compensate for the fact that a new device is added to the market. It makes the new device ‘waste-neutral’. As waste-compensation is a service supported by TCO Development and adopted by large buyers across the globe, the service offered a great and solid starting point towards greener procurement of tech, for the Ministry. So far, over 6000 phones have been compensated.

On Circular Electronics Day, we need to celebrate these first steps. We need to celebrate collaboration, such as this example. The key stakeholders included an ambitious customer, a supportive supplier and a circular service provider, Closing the Loop, which implemented waste-compensation. We need to accept that big ambitions (‘circular tech’) start with small, realistic steps. And we will only get everyone on board for those first steps if they create value for everyone.