- 关于可持续的信息技术

实施你的可持续IT战略的五个关键

可持续的信息技术是一个广泛的话题,包括整个产品生命周期的环境和社会可持续性。正确的做法可以帮助你的组织减少风险,降低成本,提高业务成果。

今天的IT产品主要是以线性方式制造和使用的,这导致了宝贵的、有时是稀缺的自然资源的耗损,对气候产生了巨大的影响,并产生了大量的电子垃圾。主要的社会问题,如健康危害、过度加班和侵犯人权,也发生在整个供应链上。通过为IT采购制定一个可持续的循环战略,企业可以降低其影响并减少与IT使用相关的成本1。关注可持续发展在某些情况下也可以带来更好的商业结果,以及更多的利润2

可持续的IT战略--5个关键方面

1.包括环境和社会可持续性

一个可持续的IT战略应该涵盖产品生命周期中所有主要的可持续性挑战,包括环境风险,如污染和温室气体排放,以及社会方面,如工人健康和安全、童工和生活工资。许多问题是相互联系的,这意味着一个广泛的可持续的IT战略将更加连贯和有效。例如,社会责任和循环性之间存在着明显的联系。人权和工人权利实际上可以作为杠杆,加速我们向循环经济的过渡

2.利用你的购买力

IT产品应该在可持续采购中被优先考虑,因为它是一个与大量严重的可持续发展问题相关的产品类别,同时,它往往代表着组织的一个大的预算项目。为了推动更多的可持续发展实践,您 ,应该在你的采购政策和合同中包括相关的、最新的可持续发展标准。为了实现循环思维,您 ,所选择的产品应该是为长寿命而设计的:耐用、可升级、易于维修,并有足够的能力满足你几年的需求。

然而,您 应该问自己的第一个问题是:我们真的需要购买新产品吗?IT产品的大部分可持续性影响发生在供应链中(例如, 笔记本电脑 ,近80%的温室气体排放发生在制造阶段),所以避免购买新产品是降低可持续性影响的一个好方法。

3.使用产品的时间更长

更长时间地使用你现有的设备是节约自然资源、减少温室气体排放和减少其他可持续性影响的最有效方法。它还可以帮助您 保持产品价值。例如,通过将计算机工作站的寿命从3年延长到6年,在10年内购买和使用的成本可以减少近30%1。在维修和升级产品方面有巨大的潜力。通过与翻新商和再制造商的合作,您 ,可以创造大量的可持续发展效益,同时获得你的资产的最佳整体价值。

– About Sustainable IT

Five keys to implementing your sustainable IT strategy

Sustainable IT is a broad topic that includes both environmental and social sustainability throughout the product life cycle. Doing it right can help your organization reduce risks, lower costs and improve business results.

Today’s IT products are manufactured and used in a mainly linear way, which leads to the depletion of valuable and sometimes scarce natural resources, a large climate impact and enormous amounts of e-waste. Major social problems such as health hazards, excessive overtime and human rights violations also occur throughout the supply chain. By developing a sustainable, circular strategy for IT procurement, organizations can lower their impact and reduce costs connected to its IT usage1. Paying attention to sustainability can in some cases also lead to better business results, and more profit2.

Sustainable IT strategy – 5 key aspects

1. Include environmental AND social sustainability

A sustainable IT strategy should cover all major sustainability challenges throughout the product’s life cycle, including environmental risks such as pollution and greenhouse gas emissions, as well as social aspects such as worker health and safety, child labor, and living wages. Many issues are linked which means that a broad sustainable IT strategy will be much more coherent and efficient. For example, there is a clear link between social responsibility and circularity. Human and worker rights can actually be used as levers to accelerate our transition to a circular economy.

2. Use your purchasing power

IT products should be prioritized in sustainable procurement, as it is a product category connected to a large number of serious sustainability issues, which at the same time, often represents a large budget item for the organization. To push for more sustainable practices, you should include relevant, up-to-date sustainability criteria in your purchasing policies and contracts. To enable a circular mindset, the products you choose should be designed for a long life: be durable, upgradeable, easy to repair and have enough capacity to meet your needs for several years.

However, the first question you should ask yourself is: do we really need to buy new products? A majority of the IT product’s sustainability impact happens in the supply chain (for example, nearly 80 percent of a notebook’s greenhouse gas emissions occur in the manufacturing phase), so avoiding to buy new is a good way of lowering your sustainability impact.

3. Using products longer

Using your current equipment longer is the most effective way of saving natural resources, cutting greenhouse gas emissions, and reducing other sustainability impacts. It can also help you maintain product value. For example, by extending the life of a computer workstation from three to six years, the cost of purchasing and usage can be reduced by nearly 30 percent over a 10 year period1. There is a huge potential in repairing and upgrading products. By cooperating with refurbishers and remanufacturers, you can create substantial sustainability benefits whilst getting the best overall value of your assets.